Windows Phone 7 + Silverlight 4

March 17, 2010

Ok, so I’m a User Interface Developer and I don’t have an iPhone.  I have  a Windows Mobile 6.1 phone. I can see the winces from my fellow UI developers and designer associates.

But now, as a Silverlight developer, I’m thrilled to see Windows Phone 7, and see that I can develop Silverlight 4 apps for Windows Phone 7.  And all the development tools are FREE.  It’s… it’s…  well, the only way I can describe it is that I was sitting in the audience at MIX10, listening to the announcements and my palms were sweating (in a good way).

I have to say, it’s a pretty impressive strategy from Microsoft.  Develop RIAs, Desktop (Out of Browser) Applications and Mobile apps, all with one tool, one language: Silverlight 4.

As soon as I have my first Windows Phone 7 app developed, I’ll let you know… hopefully in a few days.  I’m thrilled!  Yeah, yeah, yeah, Silverlight 4 isn’t actually supported in the mobile browser itself, but whatever.  Soon.  Very soon. It’s all coming together.

Get your free development tools here:  http://developer.windowsmobile.com

Leave a Reply

